Join the Discussion on Comprehensive Immigration Reform, November 18

On Sept.17, Rep. Luis Gutierrez (D-Ill.) pledged to introduce comprehensive immigration reform legislation this year. Less than a month later he announced the bill’s principles in front of thousands who came to Washington , D.C.

Now YOU, your family, friends, neighbors, co-workers and others will have the opportunity to hear directly from Congressman Gutierrez about the bill and his legislative strategy via a virtual national townhall on Nov. 18 (5 p.m. PST/6 p.m. MDT/7 p.m. CDT/8 p.m. EST).

The briefing is sponsored by the Reform Immigration FOR America campaign, a nationally coordinated effort that brings multiple sectors together – including Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders, Latinos, African Americans, community, faith, business and labor – under one tent to promote comprehensive immigration reform. The time to get involved is NOW!

HOW CAN I PARTICIPATE?

Join the virtual townhall by telephone.  To get the call-in information, you must register.

To register visit: http://actions.reformimmigrationforamerica.org/t/5324/content.jsp?content_KEY=2968 .

TO HOST A HOUSE PARTY

To walk you through the steps of hosting a house party on Nov. 18, a toolkit is available at http://www.advancingequality.org/immigrationpubs/. The Asian American Justice Center (AAJC) and National Korean American Service & Education Consortium (NAKASEC) are working with the campaign to provide additional assistance. Contact Lianna Chang with AAJC, lchang@advancingequality.org / (202) 296-2300 x 141 or Sookyung Oh with NAKASEC, soh@nakasec.org / 202-339-9349 with any questions. NOTE: There will be no simultaneous translations or live streaming of the briefing.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s