Extreme Makeover: Home Edition & Dancing with the Stars Pair up to Turn The Arboledia Family’s American Dream into Reality

The AAJC has been working with the media coalition and the networks to increase AAPI casting in  shows.  Here is one involving Pilipino immigrants.

Episode Airs SUNDAY, OCTOBER 17 (8:00-9:00 PM) on ABC

OCTOBER 11, 2010 – Dancing with the Stars professional dancers Derek Hough, Mark Ballas, Tony Dovolani, Chelsie Hightower join the Extreme Makeover: Home Edition team to help Rhex Arboleda, the founder of the “Move to the Groove” dance-fitness program, and his family of six makeover their 70-year-old approximately 550 square foot home.

Music is an important part of Rhex’s life. A native of the Philippines, he was a general music teacher at an all-girls’ Catholic high school in his native country for three years. He came to the United States eight years ago to earn a master’s degree in music education at University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point.  One of Neenah, Wisconsin’s hometown heroes, Rhex has distinguished himself by locally leading the movement to banish childhood obesity. In 2004,  he created “Move to the Groove,” which is designed to get both teachers and students up on their feet and in shape. Less like gym class and more like play, this dance-fitness program is already being used in several local elementary schools where health and wellness are a priority.

In addition to the Arboleda’s stunning new home, the Extreme Makeover: Home Edition team redesigned an old ice cream truck to make “Move to the Grove” mobile to better aid Rhex with his mission to help children in America fight obesity through his dance-fitness program. (www.disneyabctalentdevelopment.com)

15 responses to “Extreme Makeover: Home Edition & Dancing with the Stars Pair up to Turn The Arboledia Family’s American Dream into Reality

  1. Where can i get a video/ MP3/ CD of ‘Move to the Groove’ to use with students in my class?

  2. Monique Griffin

    Where can I get a video? I would like my daughter to use it. I think the program and concept is wonderful and just what she/we need.
    Monique
    Lee’s Summit, MO

  3. jill rushkofske

    would like to purchase a video

  4. Where can I get a copy of the move to the grove.

    Rosanne

  5. Patti Erickson

    I am also trying to locate how to purchase the video.

    Thank you~

  6. Where can I get a copy of Move to the Groove. I am also an elementary music teacher and would LOVE to use this in my classroom

  7. I would love to get the cd really bad I love u Ty

  8. Nimfa Patino Casson

    Hi, I’m Nimfa P. Casson. I’m a 7th Grade teacher in British Columbia Canada. Like you Rhex, I’m originally from the Philippines. I would very much like to use your “Move to the Grove” video in our school’s Daily Physical Activity (DPA). Where can I get it?
    Watching the Extreme Makeover:Home Edition made me so proud. From one teacher to another…way to go! Thanks.

  9. Jolene Bishop

    Where do we get the video? Please make this known as I am certain ALL of America and many people overseas will LOVE this and enjoy getting MOVING! I know I sure loved watchingit.

  10. how can i get a copy of the music and a video?

  11. Cheryl Martin

    Would love to get a copy of Move to the grove! Want to help my children and share with the local schools….That was awesome….

  12. Beverly Sheppard

    I would like to get a copy of the CD also for my grandson who loves music and loves to dance. He’s 2yrs old and I think this would be a great outlet for his high energy.

  13. I would like to obtain a video of move to the grove for our school district.,
    how can I obtain one??

  14. My grandchildren can definitely benefit from the video; as well as the seniors in our Center. Where can we get a copy? Thanks.

  15. Where canI get a copy of the CD or Dvd whatever it is?

Leave a Reply

